First ODI between India and West Indies today, Chris Gayle’s return

First ODI between India and West Indies today
Image Source: Times Now

The ODI series between India and West Indies is starting from Thursday. The first match of the series will be played at the Providence Stadium in Guyana today. According to Indian time, there will be a big change in the timing of ODIs. The match will be broadcast live on Sony Sports Network from 7 pm. After clearing the West Indies 3–0 in the T20 series, Team India is ready to challenge the Caribbean team in ODIs.

These players will be part of ODI team, which were not in T20 team

In the first ODI against the West Indies, some faces will be seen in the Indian team, who were not part of the T20 team. Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal were not part of the T20 team, but these players will be seen playing in ODIs. Apart from this, Kedar Jadhav is also a part of ODI team.

Team India in tension with Gayle’s return

In this match, on one side, if the Indian team wants to start the ODI series with a win, then the hosts West Indies will want to forget the T20 defeat and make a good start in the ODI series. The good news for the West Indies will be that explosive batsman Chris Gayle will be seen on the field today. Chris Gayle was not part of the T20 team. Actually, Gayle was not selected in the T20 team, he was playing in the Canada Global T20 League at that time. Gayle’s performance in the Canada Global T20 League has been a blast. He has also scored a century in this league.

The situation of disunity in Rohit-Dhawan and Rahul

The problem of number four in Team India was very serious and still persists. Although KL Rahul hinted to fill that gap in the World Cup, KL Dhawan had to open after Dhawan and no batsman could do well again at number four. Now the problem against the West Indies will be which pair to open. In the absence of Dhawan in the World Cup, KL Rahul batted with a bang, but today it is believed that Rahul will be fed at number four and Dhawan-Rohit pair will open.

Expected Playing XI

India – Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Khalil Ahmed

West Indies – Jason Holder (Captain), Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Carlos Brathwaite, Fabian Allen, Ocean Thomas, Chemo Paul, Sheldon Cottrell